Religious leaders perform Sarva Dharma Prarthana at foundation stone laying ceremony of new Parliament building


Various religious leaders performed the 'Sarva Dharma Prarthana' (inter-faith prayer) on December 10, 2020 at the foundation stone laying ceremony of the new Parliament building. The religious leaders chanted prayers in various languages. Gandhi Smriti and Darshan Samiti facilitated the inter-faith prayer on the occasion.
Amidst chanting of hymns by priests, the Prime Minister of India Shri Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone of the New Parliament Building in Parliament House Complex. The Prime Minister also unveiled a plaque on the occasion.
According to a release by the Prime Minister's Office (PMO), the new building is an intrinsic part of the vision of 'Aatmanirbhar Bharat' and will be a landmark opportunity to build peoples' Parliament for the first time after independence, one which will match the needs and aspirations of 'New India' in the 75th anniversary of independence in 2022.
"The new Parliament building will be modern, state-of-the-art and energy-efficient, with highly non-obtrusive security facilities to be built as a triangular-shaped building, adjacent to the present Parliament. Lok Sabha will be three times of the existing size and Rajya Sabha will be substantially bigger," the release said.
Among other leaders, Union Home Minister Shri Amit Shah, Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad, Finance Minister, Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman foreign Envoys and Lok Sabha Speaker Shri Om Birla, Industrialist Shri Ratan Tata also attended the ceremony.