GSDS img

"The light of knowledge can never dawn on the proud."
-Mahatma Gandhi

  • Gandhi Smriti
    Gandhi Smriti

    Gandhi Smriti, housed in the Old Birla House on 5, Tees January Marg, New...

  • Gandhi Darshan
    Gandhi Darshan

    It was twenty-one years after the Mahatma’s martyrdom that the whole world...

  • Important Visitor
    Important Visitor

    Ambassador of Brazil to India visited Gandhi Smriti today.

  • Facilities with Us
    Facilities with Us

    A library and documentation centre with over 15000 books by and on Gandhi,...


The Last 144 Days in Gandhi Smriti

  • August 1,1947:

    Gandhiji reached Srinagar.

  • August 4 :

    Reached Jammu.

  • August 5:

    Spoke at Gurudwara Punja Saheb ; addressed prayer meeting at Wah Refugee Camp.

  • August 6:

    Reached Lohore; answered questions put by Con-gress workers; in evening left for Patna en route to Calcutta.

  • August 8:

    At Patna, addressing –prayer meeting said that 15th August should be celebrated by fasting, spinning and prayer.

The Last 144 days in Gandhi Smriti (Continue...)
Mahatma Gandhi
 Shri Narendra Modi, The Hon’ble Prime Minister

Structure of the Samiti

  • Chairman: Shri Narendra Modi, The Hon’ble Prime Minister
  • Vice-Chairperson:

    Shri Gangapuram Kishan Reddy, Hon’ble Minister of Culture

  • Executive Committee:Chairperson, Shri Gangapuram Kishan Reddy
  • Members: Minister In-charge, Ministry of Culture, The Lieutenant Governor of Delhi, Mayor of Delhi, Shri Laxmi Dass, Shri Sankar Kumar Sanyal, Ms. Rajni Bakshi, Shri Narayan Bhai Bhattacharjee, Dr. Harsh Vardhan Kamrah, Ms. Neelima Vardhan, Dr. Suparna Gooptu, Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Information Advisor to the Prime Minister, Chief Engineer, CPWD, Secretary, (Expenditure), Ministry of Finance, Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Commissioner of Delhi, Municipal Corporation of Delhi, President/Administrator, New Delhi Municipal Committee.
  • Unique Visitors: 8100
Scroll To Top